Episode 1

full
Published on:

13th May 2020

Where the freelance work is

In our launch episode we speak to travel writer David Whitley and film journalist Tasha Jagger about where to the find the freelance work.

We discuss the importance of working for a range of media outlets, how to branch out beyond traditional media and the unexpected places where journalism work can be found.

The Hosts

Lily Canter: https://www.lilycanter.co.uk/ 

Twitter: @lilycanter 

Emma Wilkinson: https://emmawilkinson.net/ 

Twitter: @Emmajourno 

Things Lily mentions:

South China Morning Post - https://www.scmp.com/author/lily-canter 

The Sun, My First Home - https://www.lilycanter.co.uk/money/the-sun-my-first-home/ 

The Guests

Tasha Jagger: https://tashajagger.contently.com/ 

Twitter: @tashajagger_ 

David Whitley: http://www.grumpytraveller.com/ 

Twitter: @mrdavidwhitley  

Things Tasha mentions:

Little White Lies, Female Composer - https://lwlies.com/articles/why-are-there-so-few-female-film-composers/ 

Digital Spy - https://www.digitalspy.com/ 

Organic Film - http://www.organicfilm.com.tr/ 

Things David mentions: 

National Geographic Article - https://www.nationalgeographic.co.uk/travel/2019/12/frequent-flyer-what-do-when-theres-airline-strike 

 

Pre-order the Freelancing for Journalists book here 

SHU students who helped produce this podcast:

Guest liaison manager - Kendra Nichols

Guest photography - Anton Velchev

Desk driver - Anurag Dasgupta

Show notes - Isabella Tarrant

Studio producer - Ben Dodd

Music researcher - Ben Dodd

Website designer - Alexandra Ventress

Social media - Joel Johnson, Ella Hodson


Show artwork for Freelancing for Journalists

About the Podcast

Freelancing for Journalists
Lifting the lid on freelance life. Experienced freelance journalists Lily Canter and Emma Wilkinson guide you through everything you need to know about working for yourself. From where to get work, to how to get paid and everything in between.

Each episode features two guests who have made freelancing a success. From film reviewers, to travel writers to bitcoin experts and current affairs broadcasters.

Packed with trade secrets, top tips and amusing anecdotes this is an unmissable How To guide for anyone interested in freelance journalism life.

Edited by Richard Wilson.

Contact us via email freelancingforjournalists@gmail.com or find us on Facebook and Twitter.

You can find out more about FFJ at our dedicated website here: https://freelancingforjournalists.com/

Love the podcast? Then why not buy us a virtual cuppa here: https://ko-fi.com/freelancingforjournalists

Subscribe to our free weekly newsletter to get all the latest podcast news plus additional resources: https://tinyurl.com/y6j7kx7d

For the full Freelancing for Journalists experience you can purchase our book here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Freelancing-Journalists-Media-Skills-Canter/dp/0367135558

You can also sign up to our freelancing course here: https://www.journalism.co.uk/vocational-skills-study/freelance-journalism-online-course/s43/a750959/

And check out our webinar training series here: https://www.tickettailor.com/events/freelancingforjournalists

We also offer a range of bespoke training packages under the Freelancing for Journalists brand. Email us for details.